Sunday tale

Mid afternoon on day four (and last) of New Year’s break since when all three carbon based life forms in this apartment have been almost comatose, I suddenly bounded (yes I did) to my feet and cried out “Enough!!!   Elizabeth, Caroline, put on your furry boots – we’re going for a walk.”  Where upon both looked up at me, translated what I had said into Miaow (although they are of course tri-lingual, Miaow is their vernacular) and then both rushed to the door (yes they did).   Three flights of stairs later and outside we lost Caroline almost immediately as she went to visit friends in a neighbour’s garden, while Elizabeth and I went for a stroll through the woods in the misty rain.  This time of year she likes to jump the leaves.  Then, in keeping with my New Year’s Resolution (as declared yesterday), we decided to go and see Charlie – first time since, well, late September I suppose.  Charlie is, or rather was, Elizabeth’s chum - the semi-feral puss who sort of lived with us for nearly eight years in the old flat which is all of five mins walk away on campus.  He is still there, being fed by the new residents.  Along the way we ran into this group of workmen sweeping away the fallen leaves. (Blindingly obvious metaphor, for New Year, but subtle never was my middle name.)  Then as we approached our old home, Charlie came running to greet Elizabeth (yes he did) and that made me revisit the idea of trying to take him to the new flat.  Not sure if he would adapt, but if I reach out and try, who knows?  Anyway, I was standing there going “aww” (it really was very sweet to watch them greet each other in their feline way) when my new colleagues and residents of what was neighbour-friend Karen’s flat (upstairs) came by and invited me in for a cuppa, enabling me to leave Elizabeth and Charlie to play in the yard for a while.  Post tea and gander of their flat, I came outside to see Charlie showing Elizabeth his new digs above the boiler room by my old front door  (Yes he did).  
 
 
 
 ©merrilhope

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.