Besiktas, Istanbul

After school excursion with Erin at her invitation to an Art store in Besiktas that I have never been to before.  Bit of a nostalgia fest as I used to live here but haven't been back to this particular street for a long, long time so of course, after the Art store, as we walked through the dusk time streets I couldn't resist entering the tiny, almost cubicle sized corner shop that sells fabric where I used to go so often - whereupon the shopkeeper beamed with such obvious pleasure "oh I haven't seen you for such a long time"  - that Erin and I were both forcefully reminded about just one of the many reasons that we love living in Istanbul. A village of fourteen million people. 

Shopping included water-soluble sketching pencils - I have never tried them before and so am very excited to try them out in my sketch book - and some Teddy Bear printed cotton fabric to make bags for "Teddies for Charities" - (check it out all you knitters and stitchers). 

(My New Year's Resolution, is already working....when Erin first asked me if I wanted to go, I nearly said no.)  
 

©merrilhope

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.