Hanoi

We have emerged from the Blip-free wilderness of Beijing.  Our son, who lives there, used to be able to post Blips but since the new website he has been unable to access the site.  We too found it impossible to use from a hotel that advertised fast WiFi.  

I will back blip the last two days when I get time.  We flew from Beijing to Hanoi today.  What a different place it is!  The people are friendly,  the traffic is manic and the food amazing.

I went to a cashpoint and withdrew some money earlier.  I chose 1 million Vietnamese Dong because the idea of being a millionaire rather appealed to me.  We then went to a nice restaurant to spend it.  A delicious 2 course meal with drinks cost us half a million Dong including tips.  That equates to £15 for the two of us.  I think I will need to withdraw another 3 million Dong tomorrow (about £100) which will last us quite a long time.

As we spent all day travelling and waiting in airports we went out for a walk.  This group of enthusiastic line dancers in the square opposite our hotel appealed to me.  The statue behind them celebrates the people who died in the French war of 1946.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.