Foggy Sunday

I LOVE, LOVE LOVE walking in fog!  

So I was very excited to wake up, look out the window and see the misty view!  It didn't take me much persuasion to throw on my clothes and head out to the lake I found a few days ago.  While I got a lot of walking done in the 2 hours I was out, I also spent a great deal of time just perching by the lake watching and listening to the various water fowl.  These swans (actually a group of 3) were way over on the other side of the lake but made a beeline for me as I stood on the lakefront.  I enjoyed watching them for 10 or 15 minutes before walking on.  

I love the gloomy, eerie feel that fog gives a landscape.  It seems to bring a quietness too.  I wondered if it was my imagination, so of course, I had to look it up, and I am pleased to discover that it's not all in my head!

Does fog have a dampening effect on sounds?

I really do need remember to bring my little camping stool and a flask of tea.  I would love nothing more than to have an early morning picnic as I sit and enjoy the view.  Am I nuts?  It may be cold, but I get quite warmed up by the walk.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.