Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Tall trees

This "being excellent to each other" rule, so important to Blipfoto, ensures that harmony is maintained between blippers, but it doesn't half bug me at times. I'm the sort of guy that if the the lady in my life says: "Does my bum look big in this?" will tell it as I see it. I have the scars to prove it. But here the convention, if we see an image that's photoshopped out of existence, for example, is to say nothing and move on, or to praise something, however small, that we like about it (better than a Polaroid? Mmm, possibly not).

While that's all fine and dandy in principle, too often these days I see quite dreadful images here that have stars and hearts aplenty and gushing comments about how marvellous they are. I want to scream and say "But can't you see that the picture is really crap?" It's way overdone with the tweaking or it has so much stuff crammed in there that it looks about as natural as a rainbow-coloured zebra. I want to say that, I really do, but I zip it instead because I have to be nice. Being nice or being excellent isn't my default option. Being critical, grumpy, sarcastic, cynical and downright rude is. 

It's not healthy to resist what psychologists call your personality preferences. But  should I throw stones from my own glass house? I'm no Ansel Adams and if I've photographed people walking away from me on a woodland path once, I've done it scores of times. So no marks for originality here, just wanted to let let off steam within the confines of my own (soon to be padded) blipcell. Excellent (not), satisfying - yes.   

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.