Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Living...

Today's photo, for me, sums up life pretty perfectly.  This is an adult Brown Pelican, just getting ready to go into its headfirst dive into a small school of fish.  Yes, it was successful - and it even managed to keep it's catch away from the ever-present gulls long enough to swallow it!  As I continue to struggle with the loss of our Rocket, seeing things like this help to reaffirm life for me.  

Hubs and I went to downtown St. Petersburg for breakfast this morning, followed by a stroll on the pier.  Then back home where we both felt the presence of too many memories - so out we went again.  Hubs got a kite which we took to Fort DeSoto - while he flew the kite, I strolled the beach taking shots of this and that.  It was a good day.

Five other shots posted on Flickr, starting HERE - last shot is actually from last night when I managed to catch a bit of the beautiful sunset over Gulfport.

A quick comment on yesterday's 'gators - some people assumed that the photo was taken in a zoo; it was not.  It was taken at a very large state park (Myakka River St. Park)  which also happens to have a very large wild alligator population.  I took the photo from a bridge over the river, using a zoom lens and a bit of a crop.  While I was taking this photo, another much larger alligator passed right under me (the bridge being about 20 feet off the water - totally safe).  It is pretty incredible to be able to see and photograph creatures like this in the wild.  

Good Sunday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.