#LuxHelsinki Day 2: Abording the spaceship

Was my feeling about this Art piece called OVO.

"The wooden-based light installation OVO will be situated in the rear yard of the Hakasalmi Villa. Viewers can enter the installation, where they will be surrounded by its light animation and soundscape. The work is shaped like an egg – a global symbol of new life. OVO's universal and streamlined form has delighted audiences at many international light events."  All quotes taken from: http://www.luxhelsinki.fi/en/artists-and-installations

I visited several installations today. I'll post the nicest pics to Instagram. I liked today's pieces better than yesterdays. It was -10°C with wind which made it to feel like -20°C according the weatherman and it sure felt like that. I had plenty of layers but the hands without mittens when taking pics were frozen to numb. All good now, but it was a brutal weather for photography. 

Each day I have USED THE MANUAL and learned something new.  Today I also used my EF 35mm lens (that I had forgotten I have) to enhance the light intensity. Honestly I have no idea if I did the correct thing or not, but the pictures look good.

My first place was our National Museum which has it's LUX-lights on.  The piece called Mandala was one of my favorites. It was changing it's color, but blue really shows how it's made of syringes. "The Great Courtyard of the National Museum will be filled with the Mandala series of artworks by Ishmail Sandstroem. Implements used for the treatment of diabetes – such as insulin pens, syringes and needles, as well as blood glucose test strips and lancets – will be illuminated by LED lights. Ishmail Sandstroem believes that, with the assistance of the Mandala – Sanskrit for circle, centre or connection – we can learn to view the horrific and terrifying as beautiful and redemptive."

Then I walked across the street to Finlandia Hall to see "Anonymous". That was fab! People went inside a box and the silhouette and movement was drawn on the the wall. You were also able to give speeches or sing or shout or whatever and the voice came out on loudspeakers. It was especially funny when a woman entered with a Boston terrier and you saw the dog too.

I'll post more on Instagram as the big files upload.


Tomorrow we'll perhaps visit the fire circus. That sounds fab. It's Epiphany and a day off for most people so I'll hopefully have some company. But I did enjoy these pieces and more a lot! Also the new camera ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.