Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Confused plant...

When I first volunteered for the Dig the City Urban Garden Festival a couple of years ago a small Agapanthus plant came my way. It lives in a pot in the garden. It likes it in there as the confined space helps them flower, that and the poor soil. They are natives of South Africa which means they are not entirely hardy in a Manchester winter. So when there was a danger of frost in the run up to Christmas I dragged it in and for no other reason than the blue of the pot matched the blue of the little bathroom I put it there. It obviously liked it and has got a bit confused. In the warm centrally heated bathroom it thinks it's in South Africa and had produced a flower spike much as its mates in Cape Town and the like will be doing at this time of the year. And it has just flowered among the Christmas decorations. I wonder if it will repeat flower in July?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.