Poles Apart

Dull, grey, murky but a productive day. I've been trying to do a card inventory - a new order is about to go in and we want to ditch some images and introduce some new ones - and I've been trying to do a contact sheet of everything that's current. Highly complicated! I've also had a go at the books and although we shall never be rich we are in the black.
I zoomed into Bantry to make a few deliveries then came down to the pier to see if anything was going on. It was pretty murky but a man of mature age was just finishing a conversation with two others in a rib. As they sailed off he turned to me and told me he liked a story.  He had just been swimming- just past these poles.  He did this every day regardless but more interesting, the man he had been talking to in the rib had turned out to be a second cousin he had never met before! I think everyone's cousins here. He got the information out of me pretty quickly though and told me that when he had been young he had been taught that there was only one county in England - Durham - the rest were all shires. I wasn't sure what to say to that except it was wrong. Never a dull moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.