An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Star of Bethlehem Salisbury Cathedral's Posh Font

Having lost track of how many subscribers/followers I have, now Blip doesn't show this as a figure, I found out that I now have one thousand and eight. That blew my mind!

As does the 2008 Posh Font (official title) in Salisbury Cathedral - no, it's actually called The Star of Bethlehem and consists of four water spouts exactly aligned with N, S, E and west. The water is pumped and flows continuously. It is also exactly and utterly level, meaning you get a mirror-like reflection of the vaulted ceiling of the main knave in it.

This font is what many visitors Blip. Whilst I always try and get an image or two of it each time I visit, they're almost always spoilt by some person/tourist/nicehumanbeing encroaching somehow. Today, being a cold dull and very non-touristy January afternoon, I managed a moment with a record-breaking nil, zilch, zero amount of people in it.

My choice of lens was akin to choosing the most difficult lens to use ever, on the most difficult subject, ever. All hand-held, at 1/8 sec and standing in a position that a yoga performing praying mantis might try. And trying to keep out feet, scarves, hands and such, as well as keeping it level. You cannot crop or rotate a perfect circle in a tight rectangle, after all.

Exposure was tricky, with the vast 180 degree angle of view taking in so much of the building that some bits were going to suffer. This was about the best I could get, given that I wanted maximum detail and a good reflection, which in fact was very dark; much darker than in my edit. Quite incredible depth of field from the nominal f5.6 aperture used. iso was a nice fairly low 1000.

Lens is Sigma EX 8mm f3.5 circular fisheye, on full-frame

My PC has been running all day, with just the short break to get this Blip and now is running painfully slowly. It needs to go to bed. Beddy-byes, Mr PC! Will catch up with you all in the morning - an early start and now I am zonked out too.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.