An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Brissle!

What Bristolians call their city, Bristol, in their own dialect.

Great city, perfect for photographic exploration - beautiful, ugly, modern, very old, city of huge industrial and maritime heritage, city of pioneers, slave trading, race relations, universities, a cathedral, of huge wealth - and of huge poverty.

Home to Banksy and Wallace and Gromit, too.

The native Bristolian is hearty and friendly. Some less than hearty and some downright unfriendly, but that's a city for you - any city.

Am here for a while.

Day one and arrival on first train. Forecast was that it was to be dull until Midday. But on walking round from Temple Meads station via Bristol Bridge, the sky sort of went bubonic and some flashes of sunrise colour bubbled through. Not for long though, half an hour later and I was scuttling for breakfast indoors as it poured, a mizzly downpour. The very wetting kind. 

This shot encompasses what I like about Bristol. The 'Floating Harbour' here features the Leadshot Tower, combined with new office space but what drew me, was this derelict warehouse; proud and statuesque against the sky. By looks of things, it is under some sort of re-generation, typifying the pockets of dereliction being made useful, rather than just demolishing it.

I have the full-frame D700 with me this time. Lens is Nikkor G 24-120mm f3.5-5.6 VR

I killed my smartphone a few days ago and have limited access to the www, so I might not be around Blippety Blipfoto as much as I'd like.

But I did notice just how many of you quite liked my circular fisheye of the font in Salisbury Cathedral yesterday. I cannot even begin to start thanking you all individually so please accept a HUGE collective THANK-YOU!

As I might have said before, my main aim is to get images - and which for you to comment ON, and to explore the city I'd really like to live in.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.