An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'World Class Graffiti'

Bristol - Day 2

An archway under a very old inner city church, hemmed in by heavy construction, derelict buildings and narrow alleys, all leading down from a steep hill.

I took my very old full-frame D700 so that I could use my super-wide Sigma 14mm EX f2.8 lens (eqv to 9mm in DX terms). And a couple of other wideangle fast primes whose wideness would be lost on the DX D7000, namely the Sigma 20mm f1.8 and Nippon Kogaku 35mm f1.4.

The 14mm turns this narrow alley into a wide vista, opening up the side walls and ending in a vanishing point miles away, like a port-hole in Narnia (actually about 20 feet long and leading to a road with construction, which I even cloned out, to make extra space for our texting youth here. And yes, he is only wearing a polo shirt, in January!!

Thanks for all your nice comments on yesterday's sunrise Blip. I hope to catch up with more of you this evening.

DERELICT  THURSDAY CHALLENGE - TOMORROW

Yes, it's back after the Seasonal break! I shall be Blipping such from Bristol; spoilt for choice, to be honest.

Tag, as always, your entries derelictThursday (without spaces, or inverted commas, or hash tags etc). I won't be judging entries any more but will look over as many as I can and comment on the ones I like the most, as in normal Blip commenting and Faving.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.