Hurtling...

Kept safe and dry today, avoiding floods, crashing waves and downpours.

But not hurtling bikes - Was a little surprised to see this one, lights blazing, hurtle past me in this Victorian shopping arcade, which surprisingly, still had Christmas decorations up.

Luckily, I had just the right shutter speed set, as I had already tried a few shots. I liked the simplicity and symmetry of this one.

Was really surprised as to just how much over-exposure I had to pump into this on the camera’s EV override, though: +1.7 stops. Even then, it subsequently needed a lot of shadow extraction and selective lightening. In the end I added some reverse vignette, to fulyl lighten those top corners, but it was dark outside, so no natural light to lift it.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Hope that your winter environment is treating you bearably, wherever you are.

The pub over the river from my flat is just inches from being flooded - worrying times for many.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.