Onwards and Upwards

I lost the plot a bit yesterday. I think I used blip as a convenient hook on which I could hang my general frustrations at the moment. Work is not allowing me any real creative outlet and injury is not allowing me my normal physical outlet. I can handle the lack of one or the other, but the loss of both is causing me much frustration. When you're feeling flat I think finding something to get upset about fills a certain hole. But it's not very healthy. I really need to address the underlying issues..

Living in a kind of limbo at the moment, so much in transition, the old blipfoto was a haven of stability. It really was a kind of home, a truly comfortable place to hang out and relax. I don't think any of us had realised just how strong a sense of place that interface provided. It was quirky but it worked. It looked great. It felt great. The fact that it remained largely unchanged for so long, something so rarely seen in the tech world, made the recent changes doubly hard to palate. The angst surrounding that bubbled up again yesterday. It was a bit like picking at a scab. You know you should leave it alone but somehow you can't help yourself.

So I'm going to be only positive now, to give the site every chance to flourish, despite the reservations a lot of us share. It was great tonight to see the thumbnails displaying properly on my laptop, and my own set sporting sensible labels. Those little touches make a huge difference. That those things were not implemented at launch just speaks of the huge pressure everyone at Blip Central has been under. Developing software across multiple platforms is not a simple business. I guess some poor decisions have made along the way, but we all make those when the way ahead is less than clear. Let's cut them some slack.

All our clients are now returned to work so it was a little hectic again today. When I popped out briefly at lunchtime the sky was filled with contrails, more than I think I can ever remember seeing in our local skies before. Shipley's Clock Tower was close to looking beautiful. I could just grow to actually become fond of it - a bit like this new blip interface. Perhaps. Eventually. Onwards and upwards everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.