It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Ascending from Hell and Choosing to Go Back

Back at work today. I can’t say I was delighted at getting up 4 hours before the time I’ve normally risen at for the last few weeks. At least it wasn’t freezing. Work passed relatively uneventfully and it was nice to catch up with some friendly faces. There were even a few chocolate treats left from before Xmas.

On arriving home, I spent a little time adjusting my handlebars on my time trial bike. I've read and watched a bit recently on ‘optimal position’. What I've learnt is that, although seemingly counter-intuitive, raising the bars slightly can improve aerodynamics and power application. After raising them 5mm, I set about performing 45 mins of purgatory, a turbo training session.

For those unacquainted with such sessions, they involve exercising really hard on a bike attached to a static trainer. Because you’re stationary there is no airflow, body temperature rises quite quickly, perceived effort is high and suffering is inevitable. It made me think of an article in the Guardian yesterday on ultra-running by Peter Walker which I saw as a result of some comments on Facebook. My fellow exercisers were drawn to the comments made by those not yet converted to the joys of pushing ones-self to the limits.


The majority of society looks at 'chronic exercisers' as being mental. However, despite the odd injury we know that exploring the limits of endurance, sometimes in challenging environments make us feel alive! We are the sane ones! Whilst pushing hard may seem like purgatory, it seems to expiate the ills of the day and leads to feeling of well-being that sitting on the sofa simply cannot. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.