It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Move the Crowd!

When I’m considering a purchase though a complex decision process as follows and in this specific order:
1)      Can I afford it?
2)      What type of face will Rosemary pull? Camera stuff gets a screwed up face and outdoor clothing tends to get a nod of approval!
3)      Can I justify it without too much cognitive dissonance?
4)      Will I use it regularly?

I bought a new pair of baseball boots today! Bargain at £24.99, cheap enough not to get too much of a screwed up face and they looked cool with the new jeans Rosemary got me for Xmas. They also hit a hidden away part of my brain because of the brand British Knights!

British Knights was a brand synonymous with my teenage years! I had a pair of white BK basketball boots with an enormous tongue! Going with my royal blue, gold and black BK shellsuit, I wore a CD of Eric B and Rakin: Microphone Fiend and a leather Africa round my neck! 

Unfortunately I was less of a smooth operator than Big Daddy Kane, being overweight and trying to get my fine ginger hair in an Afro!  I loved Hip Hop in the days before it was all about the bitches n the money!

Hip Hop was still relatively new and rappers were often highly politicised poets who highlighted the injustices of being black in the USA. Few people in my council estate learned so much about Louis Farrakan, Rosa Parks or Steve Biko! It was a time that I started to learn of injustices in society and that there were many sides to history that had been hidden from me at school.

I had been brought up in a Daily Express reading, Conservative and royalist household but started to challenge my own previously held beliefs. Even though my parents said they were open-minded, they still voted for Maggie and distrusted Catholics. I remember accepting the status quo..... and could still name more members of her cabinet that that of the current government. However, Hip Hop was the catalyst of change (along with having to pay the Poll Tax) and had quite an impact on who I am today.


It’s amazing the memories a new pair of baseball boots can bring back. Ohhh, also got my Chartered Scientist status today. Outta here....PEACE Boiiiii!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.