It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Goodness it was windy today. I set off for Parkrun on my bike only to turn back on Long (and hilly) Lane because my heart wasn't in it today. Whilst self-flagellation is a passion of mine, I'm nursing a few niggles and some deep fatigue in the legs. It was a reasonable decision. I subsequently found out that it had been cancelled because of the danger of falling branches.
 
I read the papers a bit and then decided a photography day was in order fun. "Hmmm, where to go?". As we were being lashed by a storm, I thought the coast would be a good place to go and had heard the Wirral had good beaches! I had a voucher for train tickets to cover the cost so that was ideal.
 
On arriving in Wallasey, I found that I had not adequately charged my phone so did not have access to GPS to direct me. I would use the Kirkland's renowned radar and ask the locals if I got stuck. Unfortunately, it seemed like a game of dungeons and dragons where some would direct me correctly and others would deceive. Either that or knowing the difference between left and right is a skill not to have reached this part of the world. 
 
The beach was non-existent. Waves were crashing against the promenade wall and people were walking at all sorts of strange angles. Booo! The light wasn't very good. I spent a wee while getting ordinary pictures, nearly got blown off my feet a few times and then decided to call it a day when I couldn't feel my hands anymore.  I popped my camera over my shoulder and then boom! A freak wave broke over the prom wall and soaked me an a few others. My camera got splashed but it's splash proof. I popped into the local Morrisons, walked about a bit to warm up and pinched some trolley tissues dry my camera dry.
 
About an hour later, whilst sitting on the train, the camera started to malfunction and I felt sick! Out with the battery and in to a tub of rice at home (it now seems to be alright.....suspect it was changes in temperature rather than water getting in).
 
It's been a funny week, especially with all the goings on in Paris. Whilst obviously an important news story and a tragedy for many, the reality is that it's simply a few lunatics with guns and an agenda that challenges neocons! The strategy to deal with them should be similar to dealing with an attention seeking child......initially ignore them and if the behaviour continues, look for the root of the problem and deal with it compassionately. 
 
I thought again of the work of Richard Mosse who won the Deutsche Börse Prize 2014 for The Enclave. It deeply affected me, seeing the scale and impact of human cruelty. However, such stories are rarely told because it doesn't fit the agenda of most of the popular press! There's been lots said about freedom of speech this week too.
 

Freedom of speech and expression is not a freedom that should be exercised lightly. What we say or express should be useful, helpful, kind and compassionate. It is important to challenge those who choose to do otherwise but only with skilful and right intension. However, choosing to say nothing to those who express unhelpful views can lessen the impact of their intentions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.