Today's Special

By Connections

Beautiful and Useful II

I used "Beautiful and Useful" as a title for the first time in March, and I don't think "II" will be my last usage, as I'm very fond of durable goods with those two qualities, whether in my home or in the wider world.

Today's beautiful and useful object is a lovely fountain, made in 1923, which graces the Fairhaven Village Green behind Village Books. You can see it in context here. The curves contrast beautifully with the straight lines of the brick walkway and the arbors that outline three sides of the green itself.

"II" also refers to some good news I had today -- one of my photos has been accepted for our local credit union's 2013 calendar! "Riding the Rails" was the title I gave it for Blipfoto, but for this competition, I renamed it "Winter Sunshine."

The annual WECU (Whatcom Educational Credit Union) calendar photo competition is open to all members, now more than 66,000 strong. The focus is on nature and landscapes, and up to three photos may be entered.

All WECU members will receive a copy of the calendar by mail near the end of this year, and I'm hoping for some extras to give as gifts!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.