Click Click Redemption

By Seoirseo

Reyes Magos and me!

Tonight is the night for kids here in Mexico to get dementedly excited about impending gifts. The 6th of January is the day of the 3 Wise Men (Reyes Magos or Magic Kings) when gifts are given to children, not on Christmas Day as in Ireland, Britain and America.

I was in Parque Reforma Social taking photos of the children meeting Los Reyes and beating the holy crap out of endless piñatas. Rewarded for their efforts with big bursting bags of sweets. Great fun and a really great idea, especially considering how poor some of these people are. 

Everyone had a ball and once again the importance of the park to the locals was highlighted. It was also great to be able to say to people that there was no charge for the photos and that they would be available to download shortly. Once I get a spare moment to develop them.

Here is a link to the photos from that night.

I don't think there are any photos in existence of me as a child sitting on a Santa's knee, so the inner child in me jumped at the prospect to redress the balance somewhat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.