Rainy Season Has Begun!

First it was just a light sprinkle.
Then it got heavier and louder.
Then it didn't stop.

Millions of water drops tried to crowd down the street drains, but the leafs, sticks, and other debris from the dry-season made their descent more difficult. Soon, the streets were kiddie-pools. And I was on my way to the market.

I remember the first time I was in Thailand. The rain was a novelty. I couldn't understand why my Thai friends loathed it. I jumped in the biggest puddles I'd ever seen, walked without an umbrella just for fun, and danced in the rain (of course).

But today, as I stood on the curb, looking at the pond in the road ahead of me and wondering if there was another option, I could relate to the common dislike of the rain. It's just rain water. It's fairly clean. I told myself, trying to make the situation look better. Grateful I wasn't wearing long pants, I took my first step. Just up to the ankles, not too bad and not too dirty.

Then a dead cockroach the size of my big toe floated by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.