Epiphany - I Have Seen The Light

We took the van to Ware for MOT early this morning and I snapped a beautiful nativity scene on the island in the New River at Great Amwell. It comprised just Jesus, Mary, Joseph, an angel, a shepherdess and the three wise men. Today is Epiphany, a Christian festival commemorating the manifestation of Christ to the gentiles in the persons of the Magi. My pic wasn't very good.


I went deer stalking on Epping Long Green, lots of tracks in the deep squelchy mud. I followed a footpath through a dark little wood and when I emerged from the other side the light against the foreboding sky was amazing, shame I hadn't got a more suitable lens on. Sort of tied in with the day, an epiphany is often described as seeing the light. I Googled and came up with this Ash song, Shining Light. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZGcNx8nV8U  Tim Wheeler wrote it about his now ex-girlfriend Audrey.

"Yeah, you are a shining light.
A constellation once seen,
Over Royal David's city,
An epiphany you burn so pretty,
Yeah, you are a shining light."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.