Narcissus The Coot

Narcissus is king of Coot Island. He spends a lot of time gazing at his reflection and is in danger of falling in love with it, in spite of his bald head and weird blue-flanged feet. :)

I enjoyed reading up about Narcissus and in particular Seamus Heaney's  Personal Helicon.

"Now, to pry into roots, to finger slime, 
To stare, big-eyed Narcissus, into some spring 
Is beneath all adult dignity. I rhyme 
To see myself, to set the darkness echoing."


I planned to Blip a heron in flight taken after sunset at the end of a grey day. It is very blue and grainy. That got me researching "the blue hour" and took me lots of places. I listened to various artists' renditions of their blue hour songs and stumbled across "The Blue Hour" by Turin Brakes. Their voices transported me right back to nine years ago when I used to listen to Dark On Fire in my S2000, not long after I bought it. I've added my heron to extras. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.