horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Tapping.... In

Right, I've had a positive day, maintain the vibes, maintain the vibes.

So I've been job-hunting all the while after quitting the old place, but the end of the year isn't a good time. I was told that the start of a new year is a great time, as new budgets have been announced and so on. And it seems that may be the case.

I connected with a ridiculous number of people from a previous work life, got some leads and companies to approach about contracting opportunities; then found out I've got an interview for an interesting 'educational' role in a law firm. I've got until the start of next week to put together a presentation about the role, and write a 1500 word article on an upcoming new piece of legislation. Then there's the interview itself. In the toss up of what I'd really like to do (law wise) there's project contracting, and this type of thing. So it put me in a good mood.

Tidied the house, did some stuff in the garden, tidied some more, posted off some money-back-from-Amazon books, ironed, and got these.

Tonight was my first Absolute Beginners tap class. It's something I've wanted to do for years and years, and with the Japanese drumming classes being passed over to complete novices, leaving us seasoned hands by the roadside, I took the opportunity. Strange feeling of having been taught a lot very quickly, but also having just scratched the surface. Taiko has actually put me in good stead, this is all about rhythm, and knowing your left from your right, and also about stance and posture. My dodgy war-wounded knee didn't appreciate everything, but by the end it was a good workout, and I think I'm going to enjoy it.

I'd left with dire warnings from Mel about these dance classes being full of women looking for men. It's certainly true that there are only about four blokes, including me, out of around 30 or so people; but given the main age range seems to be from late fifties, into sixties, and possibly a couple in seventies, I think I'm safe (Mel is still insistent there may be a cougar amongst them, but then her primary concern when I told her about the interview was that the salary be sufficiently high, and in amongst the day's tasks pointed out the one thing I hadn't yet done - the shower head holder now on the living room floor for me to disassemble and fix - so my own positivity is carrying me through today, she clearly didn't enjoy her first day back in the office).

We're actually both going to a Ceilidh class at the same place on Thursday nights - expecting that to be just as age-skewed.

Oh, and took a picture with a make-your-own little wooden pinhole camera today. Hopefully have time to go out into the garage later tonight and try developing that.

Interesting to see how the thumbnail comes up on this - it's one feature I hope is coming back soon (EDIT: in fairness the thumbnail on this works). I was wondering if the EXIF is going to make a reappearance as well. I guess there wasn't a practical purpose (save trying to recreate shots and knowing what your settings were); but one thing I enjoyed doing was looking at the proportion of photos I'd taken with each camera or phone, and even the focal lengths and f-stops, on those little pie charts. It was just 'neat'. The thought that crossed my mind is that this may not reappear because Polaroid are obviously looking at making cameras again, and won't want other brands mentioned prominently. I hope it's not the case (and it's not something that'll drive me away), but there seem to be a lot of 'issues' still outstanding (the iPad app still crashes every time I start it no matter how many times I delete and re-install).

Argh, stop whingeing Anth. Positivity. Right, to the shower head holder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.