horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Thrice unto Portobello

Trip one was planned, needing some pork belly from Findlay's (also wanted some marrow, but nae luck there).

Trip two was a very late notice shout from STV asking if I'd be up for some filming. It meant having to bump a couple of prior engagements, about which I'm rather guilty, but with the new job starting on the 18th I doubt there'll be much chance to add to my portfolio for a wee while. I'll make it up to both.

The piece was about the 'sculpture' in the shot, which has recently appeared on the beach. In fact there's a local artist responsible, who creates these small structures, before taking some fantastic forced perspective shots to make them look huge. A group of dog walkers were passing as we set up, and it turns out they knew all about the chap's work, so that turned into a neat interview. In itself it was a strange shoot as one of the regular presenters was there to cover it, so I was just really local colour, but I ended up conducting the interview, and doing most of the talking in a sort of co-presenting thing. And all so rushed because it's going to be on a new launch 'Live at Five' show that's going out on both STVs Edinburgh and Glasgow.

Home, DIY, tidying, and then trip three, figuring I'd try my hand at some of that forced perspective. But by the time I got back to the beach (this time on the bike, being a bit bored of walking everywhere) the sculpture was toppled. Whether by human or natural hand I know not.

Shattered now, and tomorrow the alarm is going to be going off around 5.15 for a very early trip to Glasgow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.