Whoops!

All the kids were back today, it was nice to see them and pick up where we left off in December.  I had forgotten how dark January mornings are probably the hardest things about going back to work.

Tonight I have been working on my poppy. This is probably one of the hardest things I have done. I have painted all the fabrics using lovely fabric paints. I have been able to mix colours and get the colours I want. I have then set the colour by cooking it in the micro until the fabric is dry. This has made the colours quite mottled, I am really pleased with the results. Tonight I had to paint some more fabric, however it was a much smaller piece than I had painted previously. The result was burnt - almost on fire fabric. The kitchen and slowly the house stunk of burnt fabric and plastic - the pot it was in. Note to self: watch fabric more closely and cook in small amounts of time! 

I have spent hours this evening laying out the appliqué pieces for the poppy. It is half laid out on the dining room floor, I just hope there is no puff of wind witch blows the bits away! Looking good so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.