Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Out with the bad air

The installation of this little contraption and all of its piping took a good part of my day.  No, I didn't do the installation, but where and how it was to be installed was my contribution.  This is a radon mitigation system. 

As you probably already know, radon is an element that is a odorless, colorless gas.  It occurs naturally as the result of the decay of uranium and thorium, and creates "radon daughters" or particles that can stick to dust particles and also the tissue in the respiratory system.  There are many studies that indicate that radon causes lung cancer.  Unfortunately, in some parts of the US (and probably other places in the world), radon gas accumulates in basements and buildings at high levels and needs to be vented out of the building.  Most of the state of Colorado has high levels of radon, including where the house is located.  We had a test performed and found higher than acceptable levels in the house.  So, we needed to install this radon mitigation system to lower the levels to below the acceptable limit. 

Mick, the installer, showed up promptly at 9 am today.  He and I worked out the appropriate location and he went to work.  As he and I talked, I found that he has been  installing radon systems for the last 8 years.  I also learned that he was a smoker.  I then gave him my usual lecture against smoking, but also indicated his higher probability of acquiring lung cancer because of his heightened exposure to radon.  Then, as I observed him working, he used no personal protective equipment, such as a respirator, when he cored out the concrete foundation and brick wall (to avoid inhalation of silica and other carcinogenic particles in concrete and mortar), nor at the very minimum a mask for when he sawed through the floor boards.  When I asked him about it, he just chuckled at me.  I fear that this young man may not escape cancer's clutches.  And it made me wonder if this industry is subject to OSHA requirements. 

The rest of my day was spent ordering more packing materials (I was totally out), and making arrangements for a truck, etc.  I also needed to organize and scan the rest of the due diligence documents for the buyers.  And when I looked up at the clock is was already evening.  So much for my walk today. 

I hope that you all had a great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.