LauraH

By LauraH

Coreopsis Fire Flowers

We had some time to kill waiting for the hospital pharmacy to organise my treatment pills so went for a walk in the Botanic Gardens. These were in the Curator's House garden and I love their colours. I had to ask a friend who popped around with a gift of a big container full of blackcurrants what they are, so if we are wrong, please let me know!

Today was my second oncology review appointment to see how I am doing with my treatment pills for the melanoma. Dr Bernie Fitzharris was away, so saw his registrar instead who was very lovely. I have been taking the pills now for nearly 4 weeks and we are seeing significant benefits (breast lumps mostly gone, breathing improved, pain from bony metastases reducing). There are some possible side-effects but these are manageable (nausea, swollen feet). I am also a bit anaemic which explains why I have been feeling so tired, but this is still not at the point where they want to jump in and give me a blood transfusion. We are going to review this in a fortnight and if it gets any worse, will do a transfusion then.

So all good, and starting to think about a road trip to make most of not working and feeling a bit better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.