Through My Eyes!

By kevreid

Fire Glow

I sat watching the weather forecast on the late news last night and the weather warnings do not show promise for outdoor photography here in Scotland over the next few days.
So at 1am today i decided as the stars were still shining that I'd go get an outdoor photo without any clouds.  Much as enjoy the previous few indoor studio shoots, I needed some fresh air.

I wanted to try something with light, So armed with a head torch and a few props necessary for the photo i had in mind, i went the 200 yards to the beach and positioned myself to take a photo of my car in the dark, I was on the beach looking back to the hard standing/grass, at first I had to illuminate the car with a torch to allow the camera to auto focus  then set it to manual focus to keep the focus point, The car was to be the subject.
I dialed in 30 seconds exposure and set the camera to maximum aperture F4 to get as much light a s possible, even with the moon out, it was still pretty dark and the moon was on the wrong side to illuminate the foreground! Check the image and you can see orions belt!

After i'd looked at the first image it actually showed quite a bit of the stars a bit of the car and not much else , so then came the next part of the project. using a 2M length of rope, i soaked it in paraffin and tied it to a metal pole, then lit it, i actuated the camera and walked slowly from left to right behind the car. i then extinguished the fire by smothering with health and safety advised fire blanket . the rope never actually burnt, it was purely the paraffin fumes!
Once out I checked the result in the viewfinder, It was an instant wow,  with me jumping up and down , not so much to keep warm, but in celebration that it was a quicker shoot than i anticipated and got it right first time! So it was a case of packing up and getting home, total shoot took 30 mins, lucky for me the wind was low and the temp stayed just above zero!
With the next few days looking wet and windy , it may be a few more days until i try something new with my new prop of the month , FIRE! , sorry water, you have been replaced!

Please if you are going to try similar projects with fire, take all reasonable efforts to ensure safety is maintained , it can be dangerous and you must have a means of extinguishement. also have someone with you in case things don't go to plan,

Now where did i put those matches?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.