Through My Eyes!

By kevreid

Paint Crown Splash

Another day in the studio today,
Due to requests on previous blips and the lovely facebook messages,  I'm going to give some extra information on how I achieved the images i photograph, So, still life is the subject but this time on high Key background.
This stage is fairly simple to set up,but not so easy to actually capture.

I used a large Gloss white ceramic tile as the base and another tile angled at the back to get an infinity curve, one flash set to 1/64 power set up pointing to the background at about 3 feet away and this was operated by a remote transmitter.
Camera was set to continuous high speed manual mode, F6.7 , Iso 200, 1/180 shutter

I mixed some poster paint and put it in a 5mm  pippette about 2 feet above, i let one drop out to see where to focus (and also to ensure the splashes didn't reach the lens) and manually focussed on that point, then using a remote release i emptied the pippette by gently pressing and keeping my remote button pressed, grabbed some  12 or so images, using the low flash setting will allow enough time to recharge the battery between shutter actuation's
there was 3 images that i liked, this one being my favourite as it had a second paint drop just above the splash and also showed the reflections on the white base.

And there you go Paint Crown!

Please add any comments on any subjects you may like to see me attempt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.