MyOneGoodEye

By MyOneGoodEye

22 Filmore

I had a pretty busy day, so, I  wasn't able to get out of the apartment until almost dusk, which rarely is a good time to take photos. I recalled, however, that I had the Long Exposure application on my phone, which I'm not totally sure about. It seems to have potential, but I need to work with it a bit more.

It has two exposure settings: LightTrace and Exposure. For the former, an exposure time is set and the application/camera records the light in a continuous fashion, much like a regular camera when set for a timed exposure.

Exposure (which I used for this photo) allows for a time and F-stop combination to be set, but the application appears to build up a series of exposures, one on top of the other, thus avoiding streaking of moving lights. I'm quite sure that there is no actual change of aperture, but that some sort of calculation is made by the application to approximate what the selected time/f-stop combination would create. I'm not geeky enough to know the workings of a mobile phone's camera, but I suspect that "aperture" is merely a calculation, that there is but one actual aperture for the camera, and that that is wide open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.