Sneaky Peek

By SneakyPeek

Mum's The Word

It's my lovely wee Mum's birthday today so I'm dedicating this blip to her and this little montage of photographs shows her in her youth.

My memory of my Mum when she was younger is of someone quite beautiful who had lots of freckles (they were cute but she hated them) and who was very petite (a shade under 5 foot with an 18 inch waist). She wore the most wonderful clothes too and her wardrobe was like the biggest dressing up box in the world and I used to love hiding amongst her pretty, fragranced dresses, occasionally trying them on, pretending I was a "big girl". She also loved her high heels (a trait which I've obviously inherited!) and I occasionally tottered about in them as well. Above all though, she was my Mum, the person who looked after me when I was poorly, bandaged my skint little knees when I fell and who wiped away my tears when I was sad. She's always just been there, a quiet little force in the background, never judging or criticising and who I've always known I could depend on. I owe her so, so much and I'm sure I don't tell her often enough how special she is. Tonight though, I'm going to remedy that, hug her until she pops and smother her with love.

Today's tune is more about the man singing it than the song. My Mum had an almighty crush on him you see! I also have very vivid memories of this song being sung at what seemed like an endless round of family get togethers. It's an old song but it's lovely and I hope you enjoy it.

Ps If you can, tell your Mum you love her and give her the biggest cuddle in the world. I'll bet she deserves it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.