NEAR THE POND

where I stood surrounded by ducks, pigeons and gulls, this jackdaw stood very relaxed watching the scene. I am not hungry as my felllow-birds seem to be. I had an early start, she thinks, and have found little bites, much tastier than this woman has to offer.
And then when I came home the terrible shock of the news: the barbarious attack in Paris, with victims dead or heavily wounded. The offenders have fled, their mortal weapens still with them.
Sad, sad times.
And then I remember the times I visited Paris so often and for years there were threads too. When one left or advanced a metro station, the entrance (or exit) was surrendered by several busses full of policemen. A haunting sight! It was meant for protection but it felt so frightening.

My haiku:

At the pond some cygnets
Already chased another one
For want of the best place

And the quote by Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice:

For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbours, and laugh at them at our turn?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.