Me

Been thinking a lot about me lately.  I know it sounds selfish, but that isn't my purpose.  I've been spending time thinking about who I am, who I have become, and who I want to be.  I am a work in progress, and each day I can either choose to be a better me, or just continue on as I exist.  I am so very stuck in my habits.....some good, some bad.  Lately, I've been feeling a lot like I need to break out of old habits, and find the better me that I know is in there.  

In a few days, Sugar will be turning 10.  Gosh, ya'll......TEN.  I've been a mama for TEN years now, and I've been asking myself if I have become the person I want Sugar to look up to?  Have a provided her with plenty of examples of success in a variety of areas including, kindness, integrity, helpfulness, leadership, friendship, etc?  When she was born, I was inspired to be the mother she deserved, and I honestly feel like I have done a really good job of mothering, but in many cases, I sacrificed some of the other roles that serve as an example as she grows and learns.  I see her becoming her own person more and more these days, and I know we are heading into a time where her opinion starts to matter more to her than ever before.  I struggle to feel like I have given her a WHOLE person to look up to.  I'm feeling motivated to try harder.....be better.  For BOTH of us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.