Weather

There was no transport alternative except to walk this morning on my way to a friend's for coffee and no cake, - an interesting Scottish dietary version of the German kaffee und kuchen, and this was the sky which greeted me as I put a foot outside door.
Five minutes earlier the sun had been shining on a beneficent landscape, but suddenly all was transformed into a kind of mid morning dusk as a shower swept in on a strong wind from the west.

But I laughed in the face of such adversity, encased as I was in my ancient hill walking waterproof which has a hood so commodious that it feels as though my head is inside a tent with just enough space at eye level to look forwards but needs a body swivel to see to the sides.

There was a huge catch up on news while wintry showers blew in at regular intervals, but I timed my escape to coincide with a period of sunshine.

My bonhomie was tested to the limits when I reached the Dower house to discover that His Lordship had managed to carbonise a slice of bread to such an extent that the whole house was filled with the horrible smell of burnt toast. I shouldn't leave him alone for a minute.
The extractor fan is not making much of an impact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.