The Disappeared

How I wish back then in 1962 I had realised how lucky I was to be young and in my prime. One accepts youth so easily at that age, thinking that it will always be so, not  realising that no matter how hard you try to keep ageing at bay this is as good as it going to get.
I look at that person in the picture and I don't recognise her- she is  my alter ego, several stones lighter, with a head of hair I would die for now.

Where has she gone that young girl, pictured on  her graduation day with the extra celebration of being the first female in the family to do so, and in an age where women scientists were still not quite acceptable outside schools or universities?  

I'll tell you where. Instead of a glittering scientific career, she has settled for being a well padded matriarch of a veritable clan but with diminishing brain cells and certainly less hair, although not yet grey.
If only someone had told me back then to appreciate my carefree youth.

I found this short strip of printed film at the foot of my sewing basket when I was attempting to organise things. I can't remember seeing it before, which just proves my theory point about the diminishing brain cells.

Looking at the image , I try to be that young woman again, but too much water has flowed under the bridge since then.
My younger brother also In the strip of photographs will be amazed to see his full head of hair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.