Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Castle Coch View

The Castle is closed until the end of the month so it was an ideal time to get an aerial view. I didn't think I was going to be able today as it was pouring down with rain but by late morning the sun was out.

I have photographed this iconic fairytale castle a few times before as I played there as a kid in the early 1960's and got married there.

I've also mentioned a detailed history but a quick precise is that it was rebuilt between 1875 and 1891 on the site of an earlier 11th-13th century castle.  The 3rd Marquis of Bute, John Crichton-Stuart (who ordered the rebuilding) sometimes stayed there, until 1950.

It is now a listed building and run by CADW.  A number of films have used the setting such as Robin Hood and Dr Who.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.