fotolife

By dennisbarlow

Who, me, officer?

I'd arranged to run a workshop for the HH Photographic Society combining night photography with time-lapse shooting; killing two birds with one stone, I thought, as people had expressed interest in both techniques. I prepared some guidance notes and included a list of useful things to take:warm clothing, flask of hot drink, something to sit on and as a joke, ID in case we attracted the attention of the long arm of the law.
Guess what? We'd been shooting for half an hour when a patrol car cruised by and re-appeared a minute later. They parked and the officers started to get out of the car, so I decided to take the initiative and approach them to explain what we were doing. It was all quite innocent, there had been no complaints and the officers were intrigued by the sight of a multitude of cameras and tripods on the village green. It transpired that one of our members, a retired officer himself, had been involved in training one of the inquisitive officers. Phew! Wonder if anyone has ever managed to blip from a police cell!
As for my shots, they were rather poor and the low cloud obscured the post sunset colours we'd hoped to record. I feel another session coming on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.