South Rotunda Prepares for Take-off

I was sitting at traffic lights on the way to BBC Scotland's HQ at Pacific Quay in Glasgow today when I saw this sight.
It's the South Rotunda on the south side (naturally) of the River Clyde.
It looked like this circular red brick structure which was built at the end of the 19th century was about to fire off into space.
I've always been intrigued by the idea of the two Rotundas, which were situated at either end of a tunnel under the Clyde. The tunnel was excavated to provide pedestrian and vehicle access under the river at the height of Glasgow's time as a major port.
I was last inside it during the Commonwealth Games when the National Theatre of Scotland staged an excellent production called The Tin Forest.
A quick Google tells me it's up for sale now...
Maybe it's preparing to take off in the high winds which are due to blast Scotland overnight?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.