The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Smokey 1406 hr

A carboard box in the porch is Smokey's current preferred abode. It is lined with a paper recycling container, which, coincidentally I required access to when I discovered him on it. That's one task I've had to hold over to prevent disturbing him.

L.
9.1.2015 (1751 hr)

Blip #1469 (#1719 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #031
Day #1752
Smokey #265
LOTD #704 (#824 including archived blips)

Smokey series
iPad series
Tags don't seem to be working at present)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Robert Wyatt - To Mark Everywhere (1970)
This week I've been listening to Different Every Time: The Authorised Biography of Robert Wyatt by Marcus O'Dair on Radio Four. I had particularly liked the early wilder Soft Machine, and explored the Canturbury Scene from which it devolved.
I had their first single, Love Makes Sweet Music/Feelin' Reelin' Squeelin', the latter a psychedelic classic written by Wyatt using the name Bob Ellidge, and my then housemate had their first album, with its elaborate sleeve, that you could only get on import. I had also seen them live at Mothers Club in Erdington on several occasions. Mark Ratledge developed a style of continuous notes on his organ because, I discovered later, he played so loudly that lifting both fingers at the same time would have allowed deafening feedback from the huge speakers.
The Soft Machine gradually became more of a progressive jazz outfit and Wyatt had been ousted from the group by 1970.
This track came from his first solo outing, The End Of An Ear, and had been previewed on a sampler album called Rockbuster, where I first heard it. That album was completely glossed over in the book, as heard on the radio, but I have always returned to it. This piece was composed by Carla Bley.

One year ago: Silbury Hill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.