Read y'all about it.

By Leejohnaire

Random Acts of Kindness

A friend of mine died today and he was not yet 50 and leaves behind a wife and children.  W was diagnosed with stage 4 renal cancer about 2 months after my diagnosis of stage 4 esophageal cancer.  We used to work together in the UK before I moved to The States.  He was a big guy and an avid rugby player and when we both got diagnosed we would send each other messages of support back and forth.  We resolved to beat this thing together.  W was a larger than life character who fought cancer to a draw.  As one of his other friends said on facebook,  "He was more than a man, he was a Welshman". 
RIP W.

My blip today is a tribute to people's kindness.  Sometimes with all that is going on in the world we forget that everyday small selfless acts are committed that make a difference to someone.

In April 2013 when I was diagnosed with cancer I had two appointments in the same day.  In the morning I had my first appointment with my oncologist at MD Anderson in Houston and in the afternoon I had an appointment for a haircut.  The oncologist confirmed to Texann and me that the cancer was terminal.  It is that doctor's meeting that nobody wants and it was devastating news.  I still went to the hairdressers in the afternoon.

The Oncologist had told us he would set up chemo sessions to start immediately and he told us about side effects including potential hair loss.  I am not sure how I looked when I walked in the hairdressers.  I thought I was OK but maybe not.  Anyway as A, my hairdresser (Pictured) came out to greet me and asked what I wanted to do today I said, "Let's change it up.  Give me a buzz cut".  Without a word she got out the clippers and began shaving my head.

Some background :-  A had been doing my hair for a couple of years at this point and she used to do Texann's.

A few minutes into the haircut after the usual small talk A asked "Is Ann OK?"  I responded in I thought a matter of fact way "Yes, she is good".  A cut my hair, shampooed it and dried it.    At the end we walked to the reception desk and A had my bill in her hand.  As we got to the desk she said "No charge today".  I started crying right there in the hairdressers.

To this day 21 months later she does not charge me for a haircut.  It is a random act of kindness I shall never forget.  I never have asked her how she knew I had cancer.  I suspect it was all over my face and mannerisms though.

I feel both sad and lucky today.  This song is for you W.

Side note :- For those of you wondering yes that is a tattoo on A's arm.  She has a beautiful red rose on her shoulder and angel wings on her back as well.  I guess I should have known.  Also she is pregnant for the first time at the moment so congratulations to her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.