Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

A glimpse of the past....

I've spent the last hour or so conversing ( virtually needless to say) with a couple of cousins, making connections to old boys long gone. I met a few too for the first time in adulthood in the "real world" while we were on our Christmas break and there will be a reunion in Westport, County Mayo in the summer when these new relationships will have a chance to blossom. All this has put me in the mood to do some more research into our family history. This shot is of some of the original documents that my mother-in-law has passed to me for safe keeping. I find them fascinating. Can you see the old stamps on the marriage certificate and family passport? They are dated 1912 and 1921 respectively and were issued in South Africa when it was part of the British Empire to hubby's paternal grandfather and grandmother. I am grateful to Mum S for keeping these for posterity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.