Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

Christmas remnant

This slightly sad looking poinsettia is nearly all that remains of the festive season at my mum's. Oh, and some lovely Dundee cake that we have just sampled!

I am always reminded of my father when I see these plants. He always bought one for my mum on their wedding anniversary, which was on 26th December, same day as ours (no coincidence there!). He loved the bright red colour of the bracts. Being of an inquisitive scientific disposition he then spent the following months trying to keep the plant alive, and then if it did not survive life on top of a dry storage heater, months trying to regenerate it. I didn't have the heart to tell him that these are considered weeds in South Africa! In those days they were quite rare and exclusive and were delivered from the local florist, not available at a pound a go from the supermarkets! I wonder what he would make of today's world?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.