The forecast was right :(

This is or rather was our lovely log cabin at the bottom of our garden. I was awake most of the night but managed a few hours sleep being woken on and off by the terrible wind. I could see the trees waving from side to side through the bedroom window. A click and the power was off at around 2.30am and has only just been returned at 10.25pm.
I got up at just gone 7 just incase Anne had decided to go to the pool. The weather was still bad and I thought I would quickly flash the torch round the garden to see if there was any damage. I could nt believe what I saw , the whole of the log cabin roof had been up lifted and was upside down on top of the garage. My heartsank, all my books and special pottery and china were all in there, plus the sauna, settee etc.
I woke Mike and David and we managed to bag up the books that were fortunately just a bit wet. As for the ornaments , the terracotta army survived as did my honeypots as for the rest I have a lovely mosaic planned-  have to look on the positive side.
One of the farmers from the farm at the top of the hill had come down to find his trampoline, it was stuck on one of the trees near our house. He stopped and helped move the sauna and parts of the log cabin under the carport.
We have been so lucky to have wonderful neighbours who all helped to mend the garage roof and keep us supplied with tea and hot water. Thank you sooo much !
It is now pouring and the wind is starting to blow again. We're all fine and will remember this day for a while. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.