The Kessock Bridge

Phew, I survived the zombies and vampires that were attacking me in my dreams last night. Not sure what brought that dream on and hope it does nt return tonight.
I thought we were going to wake to a frosty morning but it had cleared from here and we did nt even need to scrape the car windows.
After dropping David at work we went to Allanfearn and Alturlie Point.
A great bird watching area and it did not disappoint.The tide was coming in so the waders had been pushed closer to the road. In front of us large groups of wigeon fed among the tufts of grass and swam on the water.
A few golden eye, a heron, oyster catchers, curlew,red shank and some very small waders that I think may be little stint.I find it so hard to id waders especially when they have different plumage in Summer/Winter or how old they are so I could very well be wrong.
We continued along the road and parked and went for a walk. Very cold and the road was slippy and the puddles were frozen solid.Nice to be out in the fresh air though an there was no wind.
After shopping we ate our lunch at Clachnaharry by the canal. We spotted a dolphin further out which seemed to be acting strangely just bobbing about on the surface. Thought I saw a small one nearby too but not sure.Two Risso Dolphins were beached yesterday so hope this one was nt in trouble as they managed to return one to the Firth.
Charlie also saw a young Minke Whale near Rosemarkie, hope it's headed back out to sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.