Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Rock Garden

Headed up to Cardrona Bike Park today, it’s the first time they have offered lift serviced MTB, so I thought it was worth a look. And cheap, only $40 for a day pass, I am sure that will change!
 
Quite unusual riding a ski area in summer, and today was the first round of the MTBNZ Downhill series, and as luck would have it, some fantastic riders were there.
 
Took a while for me to get into the flow, it’s very different from Rotorua trail riding. Very rough, quite rocky, not as flowy, and a number of sharp corners (and drop offs!). So I took it very easy in the morning, had lunch, and then opened it up a bit in the afternoon. And then it became fun, lots of fun. Very challenging and I’m not sure at the “intermediate” grade they have on a number of trails, they are easily grade 4 in Rotorua. And no, didn’t ride any of the grade 5/Advanced. In fact, some of the “trails” weren’t actually, you had to find our own way down!
 
All in all a great day and I stopped at 3 to watch the elite racers. Wow, just amazing. I’d seen them on and off during the day, but I stopped at the “rock garden” which is the toughest part of the course. Unbelievably rough, and steep, with a sharp r/h turn at the bottom. Just crazy. I think I’d ride it, but obviously not as fast. Some riders appear to be completely reckless, like this guy actually who came 8th. Interestingly,  Greg Williamson, who is the Scottish DH champion and came first today, made it look easy and was very relaxed, As did Brook MacDonald (The Bulldog) and several others  of the very top riders. It was quite obviously their level of expertise and skill.
 
So, a fab day. Did I love it? Yes, eventually. Would I rush back? Probably not, although it’s extremely good for your technical riding skills I think I just love Rotorua to much …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.