Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Magical Mystery Tour... (Day 5)

... aka "I think we're lost!"

There were many shots I could have chosen for today but in the end, I had to choose this one as it only occurred due to getting lost.

When I found out that our holiday was to take us within driving distance of the Bay of Fundy, I was excited.  The Bay of Fundy has the highest tidal range in the world!  "So what?" you're thinking.  Well in parts of the bay, the difference between high and low time is over 16 metres!  To me anyhow, this is absolutely amazing.  It's also an area of significant geological interest and as such, I just had to visit the Joggins Fossil Cliffs, one of the UNESCO world heritage sites.

We were booked on to the first tour of the day which meant an early start, breakfast on the road and a 2 hour drive.  Unfortunately the Canadians don't seem to believe in useful things like road maps, or road signs for that matter.  Armed with our little tourist map, we eventually found we had taken a wrong turn (or not taken a turn) and were well on our way to being lost.  A very expensive connection to my mobile data package got us back on the right road and a call to the centre to tell them we were running late.

When we arrived at the cliffs, it turned out we were the only ones booked on the tour so not only was it find to be late but we got our own private tour of the cliffs.  It was windy and cold but I found it fascinating. 

After lunch at the centre we headed on to 5 Islands Provincial Park.  When the water was to our left, I was concerned we might be on the wrong road.  When the road became a dust track, I was fairly confident we weren't on the right road.  Nowhere to turn around, we continued until we reached a wave research centre.  They got us back on track and when I got back to the car I found this huge beast on the windscreen, about 2.5" long without its feelers.  The photo for the day because it would never have been seen if we hadn't got lost.

Eventually we arrived at the park, deer crossed the road righter in front of the car.  We hiked along the walkways, enjoyed the views from the lookout points and saw loads of lovely plants and insects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.