ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Fuck Facebook

Let me begin by acknowledging the irony in the fact that you may well have ended up here, reading this blog, because of Facebook*. I’m not demonising the social media site, but I am addressing an ever growing over-dependence upon it, especially in my own life where it now falls under the category of ‘addiction’. I freely admit that I am, indeed, a facebook addict and it has now reached the point where I need to go cold turkey in order to kick the habit. Timely to new years resolutions, it has now been a full 10 days without whimsical status updates, pressurised private messaging (Daniel has not seen your message), and co-ordinated commercial bombardment. And I feel great. 

On new years eve I was talking to a photographer who, quite rightly, exclaimed we over use screen technologies. He emphasised that in most instances if you count the number of screens in a room, it will outweigh the number of people. This was even true at the house party where we spoke;  30 or perhaps more so screens in a room of only 20. One and a half screens per person - we could all be on our own devices and still be distracted by something else.  The over-dependency upon social media stems from an almost universal short attention span in the digital age. It only takes a few seconds for us to get bored nowadays, and the moment you do, what’s your first port of call? Facebook, no doubt.

I’ve come to realise, since resisting the urge to go on Facebook and dwindle minute-upon-minute-upon-hour-upon-hour on a mindless scroll through newsfeed, that social media really does dampen creative spirit. It may not seem like social media dominates your life, but if you tally up the total amount of time spent on it in a week, you’d be flabbergasted. Not allowing myself to go on Facebook, I find myself trying to fill my time a lot more creatively; productivity for me is at an all time high right now.   

Not to mention the clarity of thought I have - after about two days in to my cold-turkey regime I became aware of the fact that anything remotely exciting to me was automatically processed into a potential status update. I tend not to now, involving myself more in the moment than concerning myself with the announcement to others that I am in that moment - or so to speak. This is one of the most important shortcomings of Social Media I believe.  It is, in its own way, a paradox - Advertised as a means of connecting people, it actually does the opposite. It’s a form of escapism from that which is around us, which is usually other people. Facebook connecting you to the world is about as comparable as your television screen connecting you to the outside - the connections you make with people on Facebook aren’t real connections. 


Okay, so I’ll admit it’s not all doom and gloom. In good measure, sifting through a few funny videos, catching up with a few old friends (especially those abroad) and seeing what’s happening away from your local vicinity is all fine and dandy. And yes, it’s good for sharing content, like this post. But keeping it in good measure is where the problem lays; we are so dependent on social media for so many aspects of our lives that it’s difficult to break away from. In fact, I’ve failed many a time to use it ‘in good measure’. For me it’s an all or nothing exercise and, for now, I know where my practise will remain. Fuck you, Facebook. 


*Blipfoto automatically posts to facebook and twitter - I haven't broken my resolution to do so. I also won't be able to see any comments obviously, I'm not being rude and not replying. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.