What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Hawking

So all I was planning on doing today was relaxing at home...

But then Jo mentioned that her friend Caroline was coming over on her way to work with Ruby, a Harris Hawk who is helping Caroline on her way to getting a PhD. She's trained Ruby from the start (she's now about 8 months old) and she is an exceptionally well behaved hawk, apart from a tendency to occasionally stalk sticks, and it was very cool to see her in flight today. More cool was getting to hold her and also summon her with a bit of chicken leg - today's Blip is Caroline doing just that - I love the intent look in Ruby's eyes, they are fixed on the chicken! (largified!)

The rest of the day has been very relaxing; Jo cooked us all a Mexican dinner, Caroline was over and so were Yu-Chun and Dan, all in all it was a lovely meal. I'm now getting prepped for tomorrow's wedding; I'm only on duty for the speeches and general reception shots, but I've still got the nervous excitement building up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.