The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The wader shore

This little redshank was very at home with the visitors to one of Slimbridge WWT's newest aviaries, the wader shore. Avocets, ruffs and redshanks live here, as well as in the wild out on the other ponds and wetland habitats. It's one of my favourite places at Slimbridge, because it is quiet. and seldom gets crowded.

The avocets were in fighting mode, though, and kept flying at each other and ruffling their feathers every time one got too close to another. I don't know if they're competing for food or females.

We didn't stay too long at Slimbridge, because the wind was biting. Instead, we came home and had party leftovers for lunch! It's been a lazy day, since I didn't get to sleep until after 2 this morning.

Apart from lying around. I've been busy researching options for February half term. In the end. I decided to combine my birthday next month and half term as a reason to go to Dorset. We have booked two nights in Dorchester, and I've compiled a list of places that are free to visit for NT/HHA members. Thomas Hardy's house ( the oddly named Max Gate) and Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens are among them.

Shame the famous swannery is not open until March, but at least there's some thing in the diary to look forward to! I've been a Thomas Hardy enthusiast for some years now, but have never visited any of 'his' locations deliberately. I did once write about Egdon Heath, here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.