Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

A Novel Use of Space

This is I-5 Colunnade Park, a “newish” city park under the busy freeway that cut this neighborhood in half in the 60s and now sports a connective stairway from one part to the other, an off-leash dog run and this Mountain bike trail, the “first ever urban mountain bike skills park” funded and constructed by Evergreen Mountain Bike Alliance.   I’ve blipped parts of this park before -it has some artworks here too - but not from this angle.   I don’t know if this section of the bike trail is the one for novices, intermediate or advanced,(?)   but I know I wouldn’t go near any of them with a bike!   Wish I had caught a rider but it was empty today.  We walk through here quite a bit,  always admiring this novel use of this former dull dark hilly eyesore (not bad when its raining tho.. and yes, it’s used by some homeless folks..) and this excellent use of the land for those intrepid bikers.


For any of you bikers out there tempted, here’s some more photos and video of the bike trail…..full body armor advised....


For the WBC -"novel"

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.